Author Topic: Heya guys, Newbie here :)  (Read 4967 times)

Offline Warwick

• Newbie :)
Heya guys, Newbie here :)
« on: December 08, 2008, 08:48:29 PM »

Heya everyone im sure questions like this are asked all the time here but its best to know than to dive straight in without any knowledge first :)

(let me know if i get any of this wrong)

Im about 11 stone, so should go for M80s?
Wrist pads seem like a definate choice
Which safety gear set do i go for? The adult set or the protection set? (im assuming adult may be better as is more expensive, but only a little?)
Skate helmet because brains on pavement isn't a good look :S

Spine protector seems a little too far to me? or would you recceoment i get one of those too?

Any other advice you could give a beginner too would be greatly appreciated :)

(Oh just to add in, i live in south east kent, so on the off chance is there anyone near who could give me pointers when i start?)

Offline Charlie B

• Elite Member
Re: Heya guys, Newbie here :)
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2008, 08:54:51 PM »
Protection

Wrist Guards, Knee Pads and Elbow pads are a must. At the beginning a helmet is a good idea too.

Depends what you want to do, in my experience running quickly requires more padding as you fall & slide for a bit of road rash

Next comes jumping things or jumping on and off things again all the above are best at first.

As you get better you will be more comfortable without some protection but most will still use at least wrist and knee pads even on mats

With regards to adult or junior, depends on your size my son is 14 and has been wearing adult pads from 13
Grow old disgracefully

Offline Jack

• EA Bocker
    • www.eabockers.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2008, 08:56:10 PM »
i would say M80 or M90 i wud personally go for 90s

pit dirt knee pads and wrist gaurds are a must you can wear a helmet if u want to

Offline Warwick

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2008, 09:00:47 PM »
forgot to add that im 18... so m90s then?