Author Topic: becoming a coach  (Read 17838 times)

Offline Charlie B

• Elite Member
becoming a coach
« on: April 28, 2008, 08:38:33 AM »
There have been a number of questions around "teaching" bocking

As a coach qualified in 2 sports and also as a profesional sports administrator I feel it is appropriate to offer some thoughts

Coaching/Teaching
big technical difference, teaching is applied learning against a curriculum with set goals . Coaching is the development of individuals at thier pace within a skills/knowledge frame work. Most of you will aspire to be coaches.

If you organise an event you will no matter how hard you try be liable for any injuries or accidents caused by your own negligence. Ignorance or a quasi - legal form will not help you.

In all good quality sports coaches are trained and go through a certification process.

Level 1

Gives an introduction to coaching practice and health and safety. You should be able to do an area risk assesment & organise safe events.

A child protection course and an emergency firts aid course are mandatory within this.

Level 2
This gets technical and begins to cover skill sets and the coaching process as well as some physiology.

At present there is no applied coaching sylabus for Bocking.

As a responsible sport I would like to think that we could begin to develop quality coaches. This we need to do in a formalised way so please let me know your thoughts.

Finally you can do child protection and first aid courses now as they are run independently, ask your local council sports development officer for details of courses run near you.

As the sport grows there will become a need to formalise structures to ensure we do not put someones wellbeing or financial future at risk. That is the other reason for the insurances etc that are generally needed.
Grow old disgracefully

Offline Nero

• Elite Member
  • Just bounce!
    • Team Sky High
Re: becoming a coach
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2008, 09:08:39 AM »