Author Topic: I'm out.  (Read 6107 times)

Offline lurchenstien

I'm out.
« on: January 17, 2009, 03:41:05 PM »
Figured I'd post an update, if you could call it that, in the way of my interests since my last visit.

Well, my Pro-Jumps didn't last me as long as I had thought they would. I got bored of them, and I continued with unicycling. It must be over a year since I last used my Pro-Jumps, and maybe about the same ammount of time since I went BMXing. There's not much goes on in the way of bocking here, people seem to have had their fun, theres a few people who walk about on them, but little in the way of people who persue it as a sport. BMX scene here is terrible, bad enough to cause me to leave the sport after 13 years, and sell the BMX that was my pride and joy for the last 4 years.

Of all the things for me to do instead of bocking and BMXing, I didn't have unicycling in mind, but yeah, unicycling it is. I have been unicycling for 13 years, but never seriously, just as something I can do. Last april, I bought and worked a gig on a 5' giraffe unicycle, and a 3 wheeled giraffe unicycle. I also worked the Garlic Festival on the 5' giraffe uni, and the Isle Of Wight Festival too, making it onto the ITV2 highlights on their site.

Since then, It's taken off quite well really, I have taken up street / trials unicycling, I had a mini giraffe unicycle welded for me (at 2 ft high, it's pretty much as cute as a unicyce could be), have and learnt to ride a 2 wheeled unicycle, and now I'm sponsored for riding street / trials. I am due to be unicycling at a cd launch party, lol as long as I'm not injured, at the end of the month.

I had never thought I'd stop BMXing, I thought bocking would also have given me a longer run of fun, and I had never expected unicycling to be more than just something I can do. It's wierd how things work out, and it goes to show that you can never really know what's gonna happen.

Heh, I guess this makes me a unicyclist.

L.

Offline Jason