Author Topic: Algebra :/  (Read 4554 times)

Offline TuRnER 95

Algebra :/
« on: November 19, 2010, 04:28:45 PM »
Right so I'm sat in my maths lesson and my teacher is rambling on about how algebra is used in almost every single career so when I asked him to name a few jobs that you need to be good at algebra , so after about 30 secondsof him looking confused and annoyed all he could think of was,  maths teacher. So then he told me my home work was for me to go and ask 20 people if they used algebra in there jobs

So if you want to help me out (pleeeeese) so dies your job involve algebra please comment with your answer

Offline XDvandalDJ

• XD
    • XD Bockers
Re: Algebra :/
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2010, 04:50:02 PM »
I am a Grocery Category Manager for Sam's Club. My position is one rung below full on manager. I'm like the supervisor for my department. I do the hiring, scheduling, orders, merchandising layouts and work in production on the sales floor.

I have literally never used algebra at work.
Leader of the

Offline Bbmthbloke

• Elite Member
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2010, 06:12:13 PM »
remind me wot algebra is/  im mean its officially  over a quarter of a century ago that I 'officially' did maths.

I may well use it...but have 4gotten thats the name 4 it  :o)

But it is suprising were skewl lesson stuff comes into use in the 'real ' world.

Although not analysing a painting, skills I learnt in Art History of evaluating and interpolating facts from 1 situation and then applying and adapting in another I certainly regularly use.

Looked up( love ya Wiki', but not in a Wikileaks way)...its sums!!!

So, yep regularly used. If the beer at the Weatherspoons beer festival costs £1-85 a pint and I have 2 '50 p off a pint vouchers'....how many pints can I buy for £5 and can I get some chrisps with the change.

If I dont go to the beer festival , but save all my beer money, how long till I can afford some SkyJumpers?  Dont answer folks, it was metaphrisical!