Author Topic: why is safety gear seen to be so uncool???  (Read 6838 times)

Offline billymaya

why is safety gear seen to be so uncool???
« on: March 16, 2011, 12:05:22 AM »
well ive been bocking now for about 12 months had a couple of falls but have brought protection from day one which has saved me from seriously injuring myself several times in fact the one time i didnt wear it very early on i sliced my hand open, thing is ive seen many bockers on here,out and about ect not wearing any protection (im not having a go at anyone here) im just wondering why wearing protection and safety gear is seen to be so uncool and many people not wearing it? it amazes me seeing the stuff you can do on these stilts and at the same time what can go wrong if you lose your balance or control and wearing protection can make all the difference,im not being a old fuddy duddy (at 32 lol) just wanted to know everyone opinion on the situation and why for some people pads are a no no? :) 

Offline Locky

• Elite Member
  • I only like people who are nuts.
    • Welsh Bockers
Re: why is safety gear seen to be so uncool???
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2011, 12:21:36 AM »
Well I'm a whole year older than you and I know where you are coming from.

I think it comes down to a few things, age being one of them.
Most teenagers see bocking as dangerous. It's like walking on the edge of a tall building. They know their own limits and they know when they are safe but they still enjoy to walk on that edge. Bocking is the same. Lots of them wear pads when learning but when they become more experienced they know their ability and so the pads just get in the way.

I'm as guilty of this as anyone else. I rarely wear my wrist pads. I always have them with me but I dont put them on unless I'm trying something new or doing something I'm not confident with.

It's not really about whats cool and not cool. It's really about comfort and effort.

Offline billymaya

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2011, 12:29:17 AM »