Author Topic: Bock clicks when spring is flexed  (Read 2744 times)

Offline noob_bock

• an-aim-ation
Bock clicks when spring is flexed
« on: July 10, 2010, 03:05:46 PM »
I'm new to bocking, I got given a second hand pair of stilts when someone I knew moved away, and they're in pretty good nick by the looks of it (not much wear, no damage, etc).

The only problem I've found is that the right one seems to make a clicking noise when I put weight on it. I've checked the shock absorber, thats fine and not shifted, missing or broken. The bushings seem ok too, same level of wear as the left one, and I can't find any bolts that seem loose or over tightened.

Is there anyone that can help shed some light on it? I can't seem to pinpoint where the noise is coming from at all and I just want to know if there's any way I can fix it.

Thanks

Offline stewjoe

Re: Bock clicks when spring is flexed
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2010, 03:17:42 PM »
Grab the frame in one hand and the spring in the other, if there is play and the spring moves up and down then its your bushings.

Offline Bbmthbloke

• Elite Member
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2010, 05:35:10 PM »
try oiling the stilt. See if that removes the noise.  bike oil will work  or WD40 (tho not 4 long it drys out).  But dont worry too much ...mine sound terrible, but still bounce :Claugh:

Clicking may b just ya stilts way of saying 'love me more'...just give um some tlc :Csmile:

Also, where r u?  there mayb some1 close to offer 1st hand advice  and keep u company
« Last Edit: July 10, 2010, 05:48:51 PM by Bbmthbloke »

Offline noob_bock

• an-aim-ation
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2010, 06:20:22 PM »
Thank you both ^_^

From testing the frame and spring I think it's the bushing on the bottom of the spring. So I will remedy that as soon as I can :)

And not too far from Cardiff, I know the Welsh Bockers are down that way so I'll see if I can get some information off them on maintenance as I know pretty much nothing!

thank you again x